KUAF Audio Advance: Damn Arkansan's "Save Yourself"

-By Katy Henriksen

The sweet twang and jangle of Fayetteville-based Damn Arkansan is the perfect accompaniment to summer porch chilling with good friends and family, so the timing of their newest release, the EP Save Yourself, couldn’t be better. Alt-country tunes served up with both style and substance, not to mention heart and soul, these melancholy pop hooks are performed with true musicianship from lead singer and guitarist Drew Walls, guitar and vocals from Caleb Rose, bass and vocals from Will Eubanks and drums from Chris Fletcher. A long roster of other local musicians helps fill the six tracks out with brass, auxiliary percussion, various keyboards, and even a bit of glockenspiel.

Damn Arkansan debuted the EP at Smoke & Barrel Tavern Saturday, June 22. To buy "Save Yourself," visit the band's website.

Earlier this year the band stopped by the Firmin-Garner Performance Studio to play a set. Watch their performance of "Jenny," which is on the forthcoming EP.